What is a vegan wine? Surely all fermented grape juice is vegan friendly? You would think so, but many wines use a 'fining' process to remove unwanted sediment left over from fermentation. This involves using a fining agent, which is traditionally derived from egg, milk or even the the gall bladders of fish. The agent passes through the wine collecting any residue to the bottom of the barrel or tank. These agents are not present in your glass, but are part of the production process.
Today a growing number of winemakers use plant-based alternatives such a pea proteins and it is the use of these, or even no fining agent at all, which classifies a wine as vegan.
Below we have highlighted our large range of top quality vegan friendly wines, including a Vegan Mixed Case offer, perfect for those wishing to explore our diverse collection.